Premier Mokgoro meets with UN agencies in South Africa on areas of co-operation

North West Premier Tebogo Mokgoro met with the United Nations Resident Co-ordinator in South Africa, Ms Nardos Bekele-Thomas in Pretoria today to discuss ways in which the United Nations and its agencies in the country can assist the North West Province in responding to the challenges the province is facing, this following placement of the provincial departments under Sections 100 (1)(a) and 100 (1)(b) respectively.

Amongst the commitments that came out of the meeting was interventions around all areas identified as having led to the national intervention in all provincial government departments, including the Office of the Premier.

The United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) has therefore committed expertise from all UN agencies in South Africa to participate in the process of ensuring that the Section 100 (1) interventions lead to a sound and sustainable provincial administration, before the end of the 5th administration's term next year.

Both the North West government and the UNDP have agreed on a Marshall Plan approach towards the recovery of the provincial administration as informed by the national intervention in the following areas;

Health � including the provision of quality health services and the provision of medical supplies

Social Services

Agriculture and Horticulture

Anti-Corruption across all levels of government in the province

Planning and co-ordination as well as monitoring and evaluation

Youth empowerment initiatives and social cohesion

Ms Bekele-Thomas further committed the UN agencies to ensuring that all the necessary resources and expertise are directed key areas that need to be unlocked to put the North West on the road to recovery, to ensure that socio-economic and developmental challenges the province face are dealt with head on.

Both parties have agreed that because of the need to start work with immediate effect, the UN agencies will send a technical team to the North West Province next week Monday, 15 July, to commence with implementation of all the agreed upon areas.

Source: Government of South Africa